A Levels:

A level or Advanced level qualifications are subject based. One A level can be taken with other level 3 qualifications, but it is usually studied alongside another 2 A levels (or equivalent). Successful completion leads to university, training/apprenticeships, or work.

If you are taking A levels, you will usually be assessed at the end of your course, (normally 2 years), by examinations.

A levels can be taken in wide, varied subject choices, but are a big step up from GCSE. Further education colleges or sixth forms will require a certain level of aptitude and knowledge in subjects applied for as A levels. For example, if students apply for any of the science subjects (biology, chemistry, or physics), the entry criteria will normally stipulate students achieve GCSE grade 6 in both maths and science.

A levels are good for those students who want to keep their options open. Choose subjects you enjoy and excel at. Most colleges and sixth form providers will have detailed course descriptions in their prospectuses and websites. Read through each one you like the look of and see if the course content is what you want to study at advanced level for the next 2 years.

T Levels:

T Levels are new courses which follow GCSEs and are equivalent to 3 A levels. These 2-year courses, which launched September 2020, have been developed in collaboration with employers and businesses so that the content meets the needs of industry and prepares students for work, further training, or study.

T Levels offer students a mixture of classroom learning and ‘on-the-job’ experience during an industry placement of at least 315 hours (approximately 45 days).

In time, students will be able to take a T Level in the following subject areas:

  • accounting
  • agriculture, land management and production
  • animal care and management
  • building services engineering for construction (now available)
  • catering
  • craft and design
  • design and development for engineering and manufacturing
  • design, surveying and planning for construction (now available)
  • digital business services  (now available)
  • digital production, design, and development (now available)
  • digital support and services  (now available)
  • education and childcare (now available)
  • finance
  • hair, beauty, and aesthetics
  • health  (now available)
  • healthcare science  (now available)
  • human resources
  • legal
  • maintenance, installation and repair for engineering and manufacturing
  • management and administration
  • engineering, manufacturing, processing, and control
  • media, broadcast, and production
  • onsite construction  (now available)
  • science  (now available)

Click here for more information on T Levels (https://www.tlevels.gov.uk/students

This site uses cookies